TarHeelPirate

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

World Series Begins Tonight!

Posted by AB on October 28, 2009

world_series_trophy.jpg  The Prize

In less than an hour, New York Yankees’ pitcher, C.C. Sebathia, will throw the opening pitch of the 2009 World Series to the Philadelphia Phillies’ leadoff batter, Jimmy Rollins.  The best-of-seven series opens at Yankee Stadium in the Bronx, New York.

This is a matchup between what I thought were the best in their respective leagues, throughout the regular season.  The Phillies are the defending World Champions, but you wouldn’t know it if you listened to the media.  According to most national media commentators, the Phillies might want to save some embarrassment by just forfeiting.  Well, I have news for those people:  the Phillies are going to win.  Don’t get me wrong, the Yankees are a great team, but the dismissal of the defending champs will seep into the mindset of the Yankees players, and they will be out-classed, out-played, and out-coached.

It really saddens me two know that either of these fan bases are going to celebrate a World Championship, but I am heartened that the other will be miserable.  These are two of the most obnoxious fan bases in professional sports; the New York snobs and the Philadelphia ass-holes.  While saying that, I must point-out that while I am annoyed by them, they are some of the most passionate, knowledgable, and loyal fans in professional sports.  I have to give it to them; they are great sports fans.

While I was rooting, slightly, for an all Los Angeles World Series, I have not the slightest rooting interest in this series.  I don’t care who wins.  But I do love baseball, so I look forward to a great World Series, and this one should be a good one.

My prediction:  Phillies win in 6 games

Leave a Reply

 
